Cooliris – Do you want to see a lot more of Angelina Jolie!?!

We’ve all used Google to look up on the subjects we fancy and admit it folks, Google Images to look up the people we fancy too.

And by itself Google Images does the job but it’s downside is that you can only ogle the 21 pictures they can fit on the screen at once.

(Incidentally, Go ogle Images, coincidence, I think not, it’s practically an instruction)

But if you want to turbo-charge your image search and view more pictures of Angelina Jolie than you can shake a wotsit at, you need a fantastic browser plug-in called Cooliris.

It’s like Google Images on Speed dial…the druggy kind. coolirisa

But what a trip it is, because once you perform the simple download for Cooliris you’ll never search for images the same way again, and it’s dead easy to use.

Because you’ll be able to access Cooliris directly via an icon that sits in your browser or simply search for images on Google as you normally would.

Then once the usual array of thumbnails appear, click the bottom left of any one of them and be instantly transported to the Cooliris 3D Wonderwall of Images.

And now instead of laboriously clicking thru page after page of Angelina pictures, every single one of the 5,000,000 pictures…I know, I’ve done the research, is displayed in a huge floating 3D wall that you can grab with your cursor and fly seamlessly through in a single continuous display of perfect bone structure.

And inside the Cooliris application, just land on any of the images, hit the space bar and it enlarges before your very eyes.

Incidentally fellas, if you are looking at Angelina, just be mindful of what enlarges and what you use to hit the space bar.

Anyhoo, there are so many more features to Cooliris that I could mention but…oh ok, here’s just a few of them :-

  • You can use the integrated search bar for image hunts not just via Google, but also from Yahoo, Flickr and a whole lot more.
  • You can type in your search term and access YouTube videos directly.
  • You can navigate through the images just by using your keyboard arrow buttons.
  • You can go move straight to the webpage that corresponds with each image.
  • Or you can hit the Discover button and leap to random news stories, sports, tv shows, movie trailers and tons of other stuff, all displayed in Cooliris 3D panoramic glory.

Frankly, it is THE most eye catching browser plug in you can imagine.

But don’t just take my word for it, go to the Cooliris site http://www.cooliris.com and see it for yourself.

You don’t only have to use it for Angelina you know.

7 thoughts on “Cooliris – Do you want to see a lot more of Angelina Jolie!?!

  1. Hi Glenn,

    Thanks so much for posting about Cooliris! You’ve definitely captured the benefit of browsing more quickly with Cooliris. Stay tuned for upcoming releases!

    Warm regards,
    Jenny & The Cooliris Team

  2. CoolIris no longer supports PC browser versions and has concentrated solely on iPhone/iPad development. Any ideas on where to get a copy of the old add-on?

  3. Hi Ed,
    Well bugger me, that’s something I didn’t know.
    Mind you I wrote this post back in Dec 2008 and as times change, I actually haven’t used Cooliris for years.
    But you’re right, it seems the people behind it have moved with the times as well, there is no more Cooliris for PC/Mac browsers anymore.
    I did find this though on their own site

    Cooliris has gone mobile!

    As the world shifts to mobile, so are we.

    To focus on our new mobile platform, we will no longer be releasing future versions of our desktop browser addon. Current users on supported browsers can continue to enjoy the 3D Wall with a subset of its core features.

    So it reads to me like there’s a kind of Cooliris Lite still available but perhaps only on older versions of the usual browsers. And if you’ve updated since Jan 2013…when they went mobile so to speak, who really is going to download an older version of a browser?
    So alas I can’t help you Ed, but if you do find anything, by all means let me/us know.

  4. Yeah, I used to use CoolIris quite a bit a few years ago, read your article and got all excited again. Imagine my disappointment when I gaily went off to the CoolIris site and found it’s only available on iPhone, iPhone! And I have an Android! “Bugger me” is right! Now I have a mission…

  5. Good luck Ed, I just hope it isn’t a mission impossible.
    But I tell ya, I don’t have an iPhone but I do have an iPod Touch and since you’ve reinvested my interest I’ve just downloaded Cooliris for it and now I remember why I raved about it all those years ago. It’s fantastic.
    I have moved on from pictures of Angelina though…it’s more Sofia Vergara now.

  6. Found that Chrome has an extension that allows you to do an image search on Google, using a CoolIris display. Not nearly as good as the old app on Firefox (Google only search). Also found an image search add-on for Chrome and Firefox that allows you to right click on any image and allows you to search to find similar images using Google, Search by Image (by Google).

  7. Yes, I know about the Google Search By Image add-on, I’ve got it myself. I just hover over an image, a little blue camera icon appears and I can just click that rather than right clicking and selecting. It’s useful but it’s a fancy Google search really not that wonderful wall of images that Cooliris had/has.
    Like they say, you don’t know what you miss until it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

